Friday, April 30, 2010

June Treasures in My Closet

There's only ten books in my closet right now with June release dates. But, they're all treasures to tease you with; books you might be interested in reading. Don't wait too long to order them from your favorite bookstore, or place them on hold at your public library.

Of course, I have to start with Juliet Blackwell's A Cast-Off Coven. Lily Ivory is a witch who runs a vintage clothing store, Aunt Cora's Closet. In exchange for the investigation of paranormal activity at San Francisco School of Fine Arts, she's been promised a trunkful of Victorian clothes. But, instead of paranormal activity, Lily finds a body. I'm looking forward to the book, but I'm also looking forward to hosting Juliet as part of MysteryPalooza - Women Who Kill, on June 24th, for Authors @ The Teague.

S.J. Bolton writes enthralling books with unusual settings and characters. Blood Harvest is set in Heptonclough, a small English village that isn't too welcoming to the Fletcher family. A series of pranks aimed at the family's young son take a sinister and dangerous turn, turning their lives into a nightmare. It seems as if the village's evil secret may become impossible to ignore.

Linda Castillo's debut, Sworn to Silence, was a New York Times bestseller. Now, she brings back Painters Mill Police Chief Kate Burkholder in Pray for Silence. Once again, evil stalks the small community when an Amish family of seven is found slaughtered.

So many of my favorite mystery authors blurbed the first book in E.J. Copperman's Haunted Guesthouse mystery series, that I knew I wanted to read Night of the Living Deed. It's hard to resist Julia Spencer-Fleming's comment, "Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish the original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery featuring reluctant ghost whisperer Alison Kerby, a Topper for the twenty-first century." The book has been called "the world's first screwball mystery." If Juliet Blackwell and Chris Grabenstein loved this story of a divorced mother intent on renovating a guesthouse despite the resident ghosts who claimed to have been murdered, I'm all set to enjoy this mystery.

Crashers is Dana Haynes' thriller, introducing a colorful team of NTSB experts. Usually they have months to investigate a downed plan. This time, they have only three days before terror strikes again.

Mick Herron's Slow Horses takes readers to Slough House, a dumping ground for British Intelligence agents who screwed up in one way or another. River Carter, is one of those "slow horses," but he's bitter about his failure and his current job. The kidnapping of a young man, and the subsequent threats, present an opportunity for River to redeem himself.

Lee Kravitz' memoir, Unfinished Business, sounds fascinating. When he lost his job in his midfifties, Kravitz took stock of his life, and realized he was disconnected from the important people in his life. His memoir is the story of an entire year devoted to reconnecting with the people who mattered most, and making amends.

Bones of Contention is Jeanne Matthews' debut novel. Dinah Pelerin's wealthy American uncle has sumoned his entire family to a remote lodge at the Top End of Australia, a land teeming with crocodiles, poisonous snakes, and Aboriginal myths. There are so many secrets to uncover, and Dinah, a wannabe anthropologist has family stories to discover, while struggling to solve two bizarre murders. Like Juliet Blackwell, Jeanne Matthews will be appearing for MysteryPalooza - Women Who Kill.

It's been twelve years since the last Ballad Novel by Sharyn McCrumb. So, it's a treat to see The Devil Amongst the Lawyers. In 1935, Erma Morton, a beautiful young mountain woman is accused of killing her father. Soon reporters from all the national publications are sending reporters to the remote Virginia town. Carl Jenkins, a novice jouranlist from Tennessee, isn't interested in making up stories. He wants to set the story straight, so he contacts his young cousin, Nora Bonesteel. If you've met Nora Bonesteel in previous books, you'll remember she's gifted with the "Sight." Jenkins hopes his cousin can help him.

Rounding out the list is Susan C. Shea's Murder in the Abstract. It's a mystery that moves through the fashionable worlds of San Francisco and Santa Fe. When Dani O'Rourke's gala evening at the Devor Museum ends with a young artist plummeting from an office office, it's labeled murder, and Dani's a suspect. As the museum's chief fund-raiser, she's determined to find the motive for murder.

It's a terrific collection of June releases, isn't it? I hope you find a book or two to place on hold or order from a bookstore, something that catches your attention. Enjoy!

8 comments:

Kay said...

I'm excited about several of these, Lesa, not the least of which is Night of the Living Deed. Sounds fun. The Linda Castillo followup to Sworn to Silence will make my mystery group happy!

Kaye Barley said...

I'm excited about several of these also!

I think I just added a few titles to my "TBR" list.

Thanks, Lesa!

Lesa said...

You've picked a couple of the books I'm most excited about as well, Kay. Looking forward to them, but my May TBR pile is enormous!

Lesa said...

And, how big is that TBR pile, Kaye? I'm glad you added a couple books.

Mason Canyon said...

These sound very interesting. I've added a couple to my wish list and I have a couple on my TBR stack already. Always look forward to see what's coming next.

Mason
Thoughts in Progress

Lesa said...

I do too, Mason. I'm always interested to see the new books.

Bev Stephans said...

Night of the Living Deed intrigued me enough to put it on my wish list. I'll probably buy it with my next order.

Lesa said...

I think that one looks fun, Bev. I'm looking forward to reading Night of the Living Deed.