Friday, May 27, 2011

The Great Readalike - If You Like This...You'll LOVE That!

I'm ending my BEA coverage with the panel, The Great Readalike: If You Like This...You'll LOVE That! Talia Sherer at Macmillan invited a group of librarians to talk about books and genres we're passionate about.  The panel was presented by the Association of American Publishers and Library Journal. It was such an honor to be on this panel with librarians whose names I recognize from Fiction_L, a Readers' Advisory listserv. Wilda Williams of Library Journal moderated. I was joined on the panel by Stephanie Chase, Multnomah County Library, Kaite M.Stover, Kansas City Public LIbrary, Shayera Tangri, Los Angeles Public Library, and Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library (Oregon). Truly an honor to be there with all of them.

I discussed traditional mysteries on the panel. I didn't get to talk about all the books, since we only had ten minutes apiece, but the 100 attendees did receive copies of our lists. I waited until after the panel was over to share my list, but I thought some of you might be interested.

Traditional Mysteries (Lesa Holstine)

*If you like –

Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny (next one – A Trick of the Light, 8/30/11)
ISBN 9780312377045
St. Martin’s Minotaur

Try - One Was a Soldier by Julia Spencer-Fleming
St. Martin’s Minotaur

The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson (next one – Hell is Empty, 6/2/11)

Among the Departed by Vicki Delany
Poisoned Pen Press

*If you like –

Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich (next one – Smokin’ Seventeen, Bantam, 6/21/11)
ISBN 9780312383305
St. Martin’s Press

Try - Lucky Stiff by Deborah Coonts
Forge Books

Sticky Fingers by Nancy Martin
St. Martin’s Minotaur

Liar, Liar by K.J. Larsen (next one – Sticks and Stones, 8/2/11)
Poisoned Pen Press

*If you like –

Crunch Time by Diane Mott Davidson
William Morrow

Try - The Long Quiche Goodbye by Avery Aames (Latest book – Lost and Fondue, 2011)

State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy (Latest book – Buffalo West Wing, 2011)

Devil’s Food Cake Murder by Joanne Fluke

If you like –

Sherlock Holmes/Dr.Watson pairing by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Nero Wolfe/Archie Goodwin pairing by Rex Stout

Try - John Ceepak/Danny Boyle pairing by Chris Grabenstein
Tilt-A-Whirl by Chris Grabenstein (Latest – Rolling Thunder, Pegasus, 2010)
Carroll & Graf

Thank you again to Talia and my fellow librarians. It was a terrific experience!


Literary Feline said...

I love this post. Taking notes!

Dru said...

Great post and I'm reading Lucky Stiff which I love and next up is Sticky FIngers. I already read Liar, Liar.

I read the Davidson books and the try me books as well.

Chris Grabenstein said...

Thanks for mentioning Ceepak and Boyle is such stellar company!!!

Deborah Sharp said...

Great post, Lesa. Just the type of info that is so helpful to readers who know the big names .... but haven't yet discovered the not-as-big names. Cheers!

Lesa said...

Thanks Wendy! In my talk, I mentioned that these all had strong characters and settings. That's what I read for first - characters.

Lesa said...

Thanks, Dru. And, the other librarians had great lists, too. I just didn't feel I had the right to post their lists. They covered Gilded Age novels, thrillers, magical realism & romances.

Lesa said...

And, after listening to Spencer Quinn that afternoon, Chris, I could have put him in the same grouping. You're welcome, though. Ceepak/Boyle deserves to be there.

Lesa said...

Exactly, Deborah! I'm glad you like the list.

Beth Hoffman said...

This is such a terrific list! Thanks so much for sharing, Lesa ... I now have many more books to add to my TBR list.

I hope you and the kitties have a lovely weekend!

Inside A Book said...

I think I just hit copy/paste right into my TBR file !! How awesome was that? What a great opportunity you had. Thanks for keeping us in the loop.

Robin's Books said...

Thanks Lesa for including me in your appreciation of fellow panelists. :) For those who are interested, I'll post my thriller list on Google docs and when done will share the link (if that's OK).

Lesa said...


I'm so glad I got the chance to meet you. Please let us know the link for your thriller list. Thanks!

Terry said...

Terrific list, Lesa--I can use sure it! Thanks for sharing.

Lesa said...

Thanks, Terry. I wished I had the time to discuss every group and what they all had in common, but I didn't. Starts with good characters for me, and all of these books have strong characters. The first group includes a strong setting, too. In fact, most of the books I selected have strong characters and settings that are important to the storyline.

kathy d. said...

Great -- so key are good characters and settings, too.

Appreciate this list. It reminds me to read some books which are on my TBR list, actually, to move them up and look for them.

It's hard to keep up, what with global challenges, trying to follow the nominees for the Dagger and also U.S. mystery awards. Yikes!

What a task we all have for the summer.

Lesa said...

You're right, Kathy. And, for me, it's keeping up between work, travel, and the rest of life. I hope you enjoy the books.

Kris said...

Great list Lesa!

Lesa said...

Thank you, Kris. I just wish I'd had time to talk about all of them.